2023 Glendora

Citizen of the year

April 18, 2024

Dr. Cliff Hamlow Named 2023 Glendora Citizen of the Year

The Glendora Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce that Glendora resident Dr. Cliff Hamlow has been selected as the 2023 Glendora Citizen of the Year. Cliff will be honored at the 74th Glendora Citizen of the Year Banquet on Thursday, April 18th, 2024, at the Glendora Country Club.

For numerous years, Dr. Hamlow has dedicated his time to mentoring the youth of Glendora. He has been deeply involved in Glendora City Government, serving as Mayor, Councilmember, and Planning Commissioner, and participated in various city ad hoc committees. Additionally, he has contributed as an assistant basketball coach at GHS, served on the Glendora Chamber Board, and acted as Legislative Chair at the Glendora Chamber. Dr. Hamlow’s unwavering commitment to his community persists as he remains actively engaged in Glendora and throughout the San Gabriel Valley. Dr. Hamlow’s extensive commitment and service to the City of Glendora is unparalleled, rendering this honor truly well-deserved.

Please help us congratulate Dr. Cliff Hamlow as the 2023 Glendora Citizen of the Year.

Tickets and sponsorship opportunities will soon be available at Glendora-Chamber.org/coty. For questions regarding the event, please contact Joe Cina, President/CEO of the Glendora Chamber, at 626-963-4128.

About the Glendora Citizen of the Year Award
The Glendora Chamber of Commerce proudly presents the Glendora Citizen of the Year Award, now in its 74th year. Each year, community groups and Glendora residents are invited to nominate individuals for this esteemed recognition. The criteria for selection include:

  1. Contributions to the betterment of Glendora’s community welfare.
  2. Active involvement in community, civic, Chamber, and governmental initiatives.
  3. The enduring impact of services related to points (1) and (2).
  4. Demonstrated personal leadership qualities.
  5. A spirit of collaboration with both organizations and individuals.

An external panel assesses the nominations and votes to determine the recipient for the current year. For a comprehensive list of past awardees, please view the list below.

Glendora Citizens of the Year

2022 Glendora Citizen of the Year
Gary Clifford

2017 Citizen of the Year

2017 Glendora Citizen of the Year
Robert Davis

2019 Citizen of the Year

2019 Glendora Citizens of the Year
Gary & Connie Andrews

2018 Citizen of the Year

2018 Glendora Citizen of the Year
Rose Wentz

Glendora Citizens of the Year

1948-Charles Gordon
1949-Will Miller
1950-Rolf Bidwell
1951-Charlotte Gordon
1952-Betty & Clem LaFetra
1953-William Dyer
1954-Bud Noakes
1955-Bill Seibert
1956-Odo Stade
1957-Ted & Mary Kennard
1958-John Bock
1959-Paul Roll
1960-Dorothy Lee
1961-Herb Jack
1962-Elvin Stanton, MD
1963-Harriet Geyer
1964-Walter Hodges
1965-Al Prentice
1966-George McGill
1967-Louis Wood
1968-Frank Teter
1969-Joe Finkbiner
1970-Leonard Ray
1971-Edmund Smyth
1972-Mitchell Anthony
1973-Robert C. Odell
1974-Carlyle D. Colley
1975-Rev. Arthur Baldwin
1976-Eugene Beckwith
1977-Helen Bettin
1978-Charles J. Kramer, MD
1979-Donald F. Adams
1980-Ben Bollinger
1981-James Vincent
1982-Keith Van Vliet

1983-Norman R. Nichols
1984-Guy A. Williams, Jr.
1985-Florence Landon
1986-Betty & Lowell Andrews
1987-Sarah & Art Ludwick
1988-Ruth Harper
1989-Everett Hughes
1990-Orv Mestad, DDS
1991-Ida & Joe Fracasse
1992-Larry R. Glenn
1993-Mary l. Lundstrom
1994-Sharon B. Meyer
1995-Penny Paulus
1996-Mildred Kobzeff
1997-Keith Hilliard
1998-Bill & Peggy Harding
1999-Wayne & Annette Whistler
2000-Jane Tessitor Braun
2001-Lu Cronin
2002-Jan White
2003-Rev. Karen Davis
2004-Pat Janes & Culver Heaton, Jr.
2005-Tony Miller
2006-Norma & Gordon Rowley
2007-Mike & Marcia Conway
2008-Gordon & Diane Norman
2009-Sharon Lewis
2010-Stan & Debbie Deal
2011-Jim Riley
2012-Thom Hill
2013-John Lundstrom
2014-Chris & Wes Purkiss
2015-Tricia & Chuck Gomer
2016-Helen Storland
2017-Robert Davis
2018-Rose Wentz
2019-Gary & Connie Andrews